Children's Neuroscience Symposium Faculty


The Children's Neuroscience Symposium features our own nationally-prominent faculty and keynote speaker, presenting topics that highlight the recent advances in pediatric neuroscience.

Keynote Speaker 

Jong M. Rho, MD

Dr. Rho is a professor of paediatrics and clinical neurosciences at the University of Calgary and section chief of paediatric neurology at the Alberta Children's Hospital. 

After obtaining a degree in molecular biophysics and biochemistry at Yale University, Dr. Rho received a medical degree from the University of Cincinnati. 

Dr. Rho’s main research interests are the mechanisms underlying the anticonvulsant and neuroprotective effects of the ketogenic diet and the neuropharmacology of anticonvulsant compounds.

Course Directors

P. David Adelson, MD, FACS, FAAP

Director, Barrow Neurological Institute at Phoenix Children's Hospital
Chief, Pediatric Neurosurgery
Diane and Bruce Halle Endowed Chair in Pediatric Neurosciences
Clinical Professor of Surgery/Neurosurgery
Academic Division Chief Neurosurgery, Department of Child Health University of Arizona College of Medicine – Phoenix

Matthew M. Troester, DO

Co-Director, Comprehensive Sleep Program, Barrow Neurological Institute at Phoenix Children’s Hospital
Assistant Professor, University of Arizona College of Medicine – Phoenix
Clinical Pediatrics and Neurology

Guest Speakers

Joseph F. Drazkowski, MD

Mayo Clinic, Neurology 

Denise Resnik, 

Southwest Autism Research & Resource Center (SARRC)

Faculty Speakers

Angus Wilfong, MD

Pediatric Neurology 

Taryn Bragg, MD 

Pediatric Neurosurgery

Ruth Bristol, MD

Pediatric Neurosurgery

Jeff Miller, MD

Diagnostic Imaging

Saunder Bernes, MD

Pediatric Neurology

Steven Spalding, MD

Chief Clinical Integration and Medical Officer, Phoenix Children's Hospital 


Marika Maris-Clark, PhD

Pediatric Neuropsychology

Nancy Quay, RN, MSN

Clinical and Program Manager

Share this page: